The RPS offers three levels of Distinctions which set recognised standard of achievement throughout the world: Licentiate (LRPS)Associate (ARPS) and Fellowship (FRPS).  Both members and non-members can apply for Distinctions (non-members will need to join The Society if they gain a Distinction). You can find information, application forms etc. by clicking the links below.

Licentiate of The RPS (LRPS)

Requires 10 images which reflect your ability as a photographer. On this page you will find everything you need to apply for an LRPS.

Learn more→

Associate of The RPS (ARPS)

Requires a body of work/project of 15 images of a high standard and a written Statement of Intent. On this page you will find all you need to apply for an ARPS.

Learn more→

Fellowship of The RPS (FRPS)

Our highest level of Distinction. Requires a body of work/project of 20/21 images of a distinguished photographic and creative standard and Statement of Intent.

Learn more→

Distinctions Videos

Find out more about our distinctions process through our videos with past awardees.

Watch the videos→

Online Advice

One-on-one advice (RPS member only).

Online Advice→


For those who have gained certain qualifications over the last five years. You could be awarded an LRPS or ARPS without having to submit a portfolio!

Do you qualify?→

Film Distinctions

RPS Distinctions in film will support and encourage the development and production of high quality, innovative and challenging moving image production.

Learn more→

Imaging Scientist Qualification

For those that work in the fields of engineering, science and technology.

Scientists click here→

Creative Industries Qualification

For those working within elements of the media and education.

Media Industry Professionals and Educators click here→


You submit written rather than photographic work for the Research category.

Learn more→